View Issue Details

IDProjectCategoryLast Update
0023478AI War 2[All Projects] SuggestionJul 29, 2020 5:38 pm
ReporterPuppet MasterAssigned Tox4000Bughunter 
Severitymajor 
Status assignedResolutionopen 
Product Version2.108 Galactic War Units And The Exostrike 
Fixed in Version 
Summary0023478: Please can last used game settings that load on a new game be saved outside of save files. + bonus bug report
DescriptionIf one deletes their latest save campaign, the game loses the information on the last used settings and goes back to default.

Given DLC2 has many factions, some repeatable in use, this fix is going to save a lot of people some setup hassle if they don't know to keep the last campaign and not delete it. i.e. more important the more content the game has

ADDITIONAL BUG: The Galexy map selection doesn't save at all after you have entered a game, I'm guessing the above change would be the ideal time to fix such
TagsNo tags attached.

Activities

x4000Bughunter

Jul 29, 2020 9:05 am

administrator   ~0057892

Wait, I'm confused as to what file you are deleting. Are you referring to the Internal/LastLobbySettings.save file? That should be invisible in the interface of the game, but that is where we save all your settings. If you delete that, you are deleting your settings, but that's only something that should be possible via the file system.

If you are deleting a campaign, that should have no impact on anything, period, with the lobby. The lobby has no code to go look at other campaigns if you do a custom start. It just loads Internal/LastLobbySettings.save. If that is not able to load for some reason (such as you had DLC enabled the last time, but not this time), then it will indeed go to a default format. But you can take any existing save you have and load that into the lobby to copy its settings.

If you are seeing other behavior, please let me know.

On the other bug, that one would be nice as its own bug report, but I'm not sure I follow. Map settings, to my knowledge, are loading fine from the saves and campaigns, but I'm not sure what the exact behavior is you're seeing. It probably randomizes which planet you start on, but the map type and size and all the visible settings on the side should all be the same.

Puppet Master

Jul 29, 2020 10:44 am

reporter   ~0057894

Main Menu -> Load Game -> Select Latest Campaign -> Delete Campaign -> Confirm -> Back -> Custom Start

At which point everything will be set to default. I did nothing outside of the game.

x4000Bughunter

Jul 29, 2020 10:52 am

administrator   ~0057896

Huh -- that is extremely odd. I'll have to look into it when I get a chance, but it should not be doing that. Did you disable an expansion before going back into the lobby, by any chance? Or a mod? Because that might be the actual cause.

BadgerBadger

Jul 29, 2020 11:48 am

manager   ~0057897

After a bit of poking, it looks like Deleting Any Campaign (not just the most recent) will reset the "last used custom map settings"

Puppet Master

Jul 29, 2020 1:30 pm

reporter   ~0057900

This was happening before I started bug hunting, it only just occurred to me to post it as I've been focused on DLC2 testing.

Not using any mod.

CRCGamer

Jul 29, 2020 5:38 pm

reporter   ~0057911

This has been an ongoing thing for a while now. It will not keep your faction setups and default you on everything after deleting campaigns.

Issue History

Date Modified Username Field Change
Jul 29, 2020 6:13 am Puppet Master New Issue
Jul 29, 2020 9:05 am x4000Bughunter Note Added: 0057892
Jul 29, 2020 10:44 am Puppet Master Note Added: 0057894
Jul 29, 2020 10:52 am x4000Bughunter Note Added: 0057896
Jul 29, 2020 11:48 am BadgerBadger Note Added: 0057897
Jul 29, 2020 11:49 am BadgerBadger Assigned To => x4000Bughunter
Jul 29, 2020 11:49 am BadgerBadger Status new => assigned
Jul 29, 2020 1:30 pm Puppet Master Note Added: 0057900
Jul 29, 2020 5:38 pm CRCGamer Note Added: 0057911